Chewies Steam & Oyster Bar Kitsilano – Dine Out Vancouver 2017 ($30)

So it’s that time of the year again — the Dine Out Vancouver Festival!! To start off our first DOV story, DC and I went to Chewies in Kitsilano last night. Neither of us had ever been here before and their ($30) menu looked appealing this year so we gave it a shot. We both loved it! Each dish was wonderfully executed. Read on to find out more. 🙂

The oysters aren’t exactly part of the dine out menu per se, but you can get 3 of them as an add-on for $9. Since Chewies is known for their oysters, we thought we’d get one order to share. They called it “Shucker’s Choice” Oysters because they just serve the freshest of whatever they have.

wp-1485397971904.jpg

3 “Shucker’s Choice” Oysters

Each oyster we got was different. I think we got one kusshi, one kumamoto, and one from the East Coast (can’t remember the name). They were served with fresh lemon, grated horseradish, and a variety of their special homemade sauces. I tried two of the oysters and they were awesome! Extremely fresh and perfect with their sauces (which are wonderful too, btw). My favourites were the cocktail and the spicy sauce which gave a nice kick at the back.

wp-1485397963768.jpg

Cajun Seafood Chowder

For my appetizer, I got the Cajun Seafood Chowder. It was great! Creamy but not too heavy and there was a good amount of filling — some halibut, prawns, potatoes, and corn. It even came with a nicely toasted piece of bread. Perfect for cleaning up the plate!

wp-1485397843748.jpg

Pork Belly Cracklin’

DC opted for the Pork Belly Crackin’ for her appy. It was served in a cute mini frying basket. There were 5 pieces which is actually quite a lot considering how unhealthy this is! It was good though. It was freshly cooked, the meat was soft, and it wasn’t too fatty. The skin was crispy too but I did have some pieces where the skin stuck to my teeth — maybe could’ve been fried just a tad longer. It was accompanied with some vinegar which was great but we’d prefer it to be more acidic to help cut the fat more. Otherwise, a solid dish. I’m not a huge fan of pork belly but this was actually quite good.

Moving on to entrees…

wp-1485397448514.jpg

Southern Fried Chicken

I ordered the Southern Fried Chicken and when I cut into it, I could see that the inside was glistening — perfectly cooked! Tender and moist. Delicious. The batter was thin and crispy with a nice honey flavour. The mashed potatoes underneath were good too but very filling and buttery; I wasn’t able to finish all of it. The green beans were the perfect veggie to go along with this dish.

wp-1485397968077.jpg

Cajun Jambalaya

Another entree option was the Cajun Jambalaya, which is what DC got. It was filled with toppings! Lots of chicken, sausage, ham, and even prawns. It was a bit too peppery and spicy for me but it definitely had that cajun flavour. Again, large portion but DC was actually able to finish everything!

wp-1485397448064.jpg

Cayenne Chocolate Torte

By this time, we were both extremely stuffed. I was nearing my stomach’s limit so thankfully the desserts weren’t too heavy! I went for the Cayenne Chocolate Torte. I actually didn’t notice the cayenne part when I ordered this so I was surprised when I was getting some heat as I was eating it. The flavour got stronger as I  progressed so I thought it was some sort of pepper and sure enough, it was! I’ve never had a chocolate cake like that so it was a unique experience. The cake itself wasn’t very sweet which was a good thing, actually. They used dark chocolate so the spicy and bitter flavours (and sweet from the raspberry sauce) worked well together.

wp-1485397828881.jpg

Bourbon Pecan Pie

Lastly, DC got the Bourbon Pecan Pie. I tasted it and it was good too. I could really taste the bourbon in the caramel sauce that they used which was awesome. Again, the pie wasn’t overly sweet. Everything was just right! 🙂

So that pretty much concludes my review of Chewies at DOV. The service was friendly (all male!) and the restaurant had a nice, cozy vibe to it. It’s definitely a place you should check out if you’re thinking of Dine Out or even if you just want some delicious, hearty, comforting soul food. Or fresh oysters! You’ll definitely get that here. I heard they also serve up a good brunch. Chicken & waffles anyone? 😉


Food – 9/10
Service – 9/10
Ambience – 9/10
Value – 9/10

Chewies Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

