Shaolin Noodle House

DC and I didn’t have any food for tonight so we went out with RY to grab dinner at Shaolin Noodle House. It’s on W Broadway, less than a block away from the Broadway-City Hall stop on the Canada Line. When I opened the menu, I was immediately overwhelmed by the choices. They had so many different kinds of noodles and I didn’t know the difference between them. Their selection of noodles included dragging, cutting, pushing, and round. When we asked the server what the difference was, she couldn’t respond since she was new (lol).

wpid-wp-1413857815860.jpeg

Fried Sliced Rolls

To start off, we ordered the Fried Sliced Rolls. It’s basically fried bread that you dip in condensed milk. Sooo yummy. It was crispy and the condensed milk was sweet 😀

wpid-wp-1413857708921.jpeg

Dragging Noodles with Chicken & Vegetables in Soup

I wanted to try something interesting and I wanted soup so I ordered the Dragging Noodles with Chicken & Vegetables in Soup. The noodles were thin and cooked well; they still had a bite to it. I liked the broth as well since it was pretty light and it didn’t make me feel like I was intaking a bunch of MSG. The chicken was substandard though. It was kind of overcooked and bland… There weren’t enough veggies either but there were a lot of noodles! It was very filling.

wpid-wp-1413857708922.jpeg

Fried Cutting Noodles

DC got the Fried Cutting Noodles. These noodles are hand cut and much thicker than the regular ones. It was pretty good too and it had a chewier texture but I found it to be quite greasy. Adding a bit of chili sauce really enhanced the flavour. 🙂

wpid-wp-1413857833868.jpeg

Zhajiang Pork with Cucumber on Cutting Noodles

RY got Zhajiang Pork with Cucumber on Cutting Noodles. This is a dry noodle as well and you need to mix everything together.

Overall, the food was pretty decent and it was more like a homestyle restaurant so don’t expect anything outstanding. The service and ambience were on par with other Chinese restaurants too. However, I do recommend going here if you want decent noodles with big portions for a good price.


Food – 7.5/10

Service – 7/10

Ambience – 7/10

Value – 8.5/10

Shaolin Noodle House on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment